Meet our Family

Standard

I am here to introduce my family to you. I am making this blog to chronicle our days, lives and anything fun I may want to share. We are a family that does a lot of crafts. We love paint, crayons, glue, paper and tape. We are a family that loves to cook to and eat, as well. We are striving to eat healthier for our children and for our future. I have found a ton of crafts, ideas and recipes from blogs and I figured I would share them here to complete the circle. Some that I post will be stuff that we have made in the past but most will be things we did that day or the previous day. I hope you enjoy our adventures and maybe try some yourself.

I am Brittany. Stay at Home Mom and Wife. I am almost 23 years old and I hope to teach my kids that having fun isn’t sitting inside watching a funny movie or playing on some electronic device. I want my kids to get dirty, inside and outside, whether it’s from mud or paint. I want them to have a big imagination and be creative. I also want them to be smart because I believe those traits mixed all into one makes for one amazing human being. There are plenty of other things I’d love for my children to be, but listing them all here will take forever. These are things that I will try to teach them and help them learn as the grow, but I do believe that creativity and an active imagination are the starting points of becoming an adult and learning to help others in need and being passionate about what they love the most.

My husband is Benjamin. He is a retired U.S Army Veteran and is the hardest working man I’ve ever known. He is currently in school and dealing with more than any 23 year old adult should- PTSD, disabilities  etc. He has internal battles that he deals with on a daily basis and sometimes it does take it’s toll on his family, but he loves his family. He is a great husband and an amazing father I love him with my whole heart and so do our children. You won’t see him write on the blog much, or at all, but you will see me write about him. My goal in writing about my husband and his trails is to let someone out there, someone like me dealing with the same issues, will read those posts and not feel alone anymore. I will also talk about how funny, odd and amazing he is because he is all that are more.

Owen is our first born and our only son right now. We celebrate his birth on February 2nd, 2011. He was born at 34 weeks & 4 days, weighed 6lbs. 10ozs., was 19ins. tall and spent 11 days in the NICU. He was born with RDS, respiratory distress syndrome, and needed to be fed by tube, needing oxygen through nasal canuals, and needed his vitals monitored his first few days in this world. He had a terrible time gaining weight after being released, but about 2 months old he caught up and hasn’t stopped growing since. We’re told that he looks a lot like me, but we has his Dada in him. He’s a Mini-Benjamin through and through. He has my husband smile, which I love. He loves Elmo, the Fresh Beat Band and Dino Dan. He loves those shows because he sings, dances and rawrs all day long. I love watching him get down and boogie when a song he likes come on the radio. He’s our little terror when he gets mad or upset, but he’s the sweetest child you’ll ever meet.

Aislinn is our second child and our baby girl, who we still can’t believe we have. We celebrate her birth on September 3rd, 2012. She was born at 35 weeks & 6 days, weighed 5lbs. 10ozs., was 18ins. tall and spent 7 days in the Special Care Nursery. She also needed her vitals monitored her first few days. She needed a CPAP (continous positive air pressure) mask for a few days to help with her oxygen levels and respiratory rate, which was also fast like her brothers. Her stay was much more rough on us, but she was in for a shorter time. She is a the spitting image of her Dada. My mother and sister try to say she looks like me, but  anyone who meets her can tell right away she looks like her Dada. She’s a lot different than her brother already. She spits-up and cries, which is something Owen never did as an infant. She’s very cuddly though, and very interested in her surroundings. I can’t wait to see her grow like we have see with Owen. I’d love for both of my kids to stay little forever, but watching them learn and grow is something I’ll never forget.

We also have 4 other children. 3 girls and 1 boy. Spice our female Boxer. Beau is our male German Shepard, Beagle mix. Spaz and Binx are our two female felines, who we love to death but wish they would learn to wipe their paws when exiting the litter box. You will certainly hear about our furry babies as they are just as much our family as any human we share blood with.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

